DocHub Support

Will DocHub ever delete my PDFs that I've edited or signed?

Last Updated: Nov 13, 2017 04:07PM CST

All PDFs and other documents that you upload to DocHub to edit or sign will be saved in your DocHub account permanently without an expiration date unless you manually delete the file from DocHub. The same goes for any annotations you've made to your PDFs and for any PDFs that you've sent as a Sign Request to request someone's electronic signature

Uploading a file directly in DocHub will instantly save the document to your DocHub account in the Documents or Templates section of your
DocHub Dashboard. This applies to both free accounts and ones upgraded to DocHub Pro. The one exception to this automatic save rule is if you have a free account and open a file from within your Google Drive or Gmail using Open With and our Chrome Web Store app and only if you don't add a single annotation to it or make any other changes to your PDF. In that situation, the file will only be stored in DocHub for 24 hours and then be auto-deleted, but if you make just a single edit to the PDF or choose to "Save in DocHub" (green button in the upper right corner while viewing it), the PDF and all of your edits will then be saved permanently to your free account. If you opened a file with DocHub from within Google and didn't make any edits to your document then the exact same copy of that file should still be in the same place where you used Open With from your Google account. 

To find any of your edited documents in DocHub, just go to your 
DocHub Dashboard which is just our main DocHub URL https://dochub.com while logged in and search through all of the sections on the left side, and for Templates, each of them may have unique Copies which you can view by clicking on the Copies link to the right of a PDF in the list.  

If a file was removed after 24 hours from a free DocHub account due to opening it from Google Drive or Gmail and not being edited or not being manually saved in DocHub, your Activity Feed will show a record for "DocHub Maintenance Server" and say "Destroyed" next to the file along with the date it happened. That particular wording (DocHub Maintenance Server) in your Feed is only used when our server automatically deletes a file after 24 hours of just sitting in DocHub unsaved or unedited from Google, but the good news, as mentioned above, is that you should have an identical copy of the file in your Google Drive or Gmail

If you want to remove a file from DocHub, you can also manually delete your PDF to destroy it instantly. To delete a PDF, just click on the File menu  button in the upper right corner while viewing your it and hover your cursor over Actions and choose to "Destroy Document". Or, to do it on your DocHub Documents page, just select the one(s) you'd like to delete by clicking the row(s) and click on the Delete button above the Last Modified column.

Please note that we are unable to recover any documents that were opened from Google and automatically removed since the file and all its metadata is immediately removed from our servers as soon as they disappear from your account. We do not retain any backup copies for privacy reasons. The same goes for any files that you manually delete in DocHub. 


 
support@macroplant.com
http://assets3.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete